• Home
Welcome Current & Future DCPA Members!

The Association was established in 1991 as a voluntary nonprofit organization, originally known as the Greater Denton Legal Assistants
Association (GDLAA).  In 2005, the Association changed its name
to the Denton County Paralegal Association (DCPA).  Since its founding,
the DCPA has steadily increased membership, developed a reputation
for high standards, and fostered respect within the legal community.


DCPA’s purpose is to promote the professional objectives and goals of
paralegals in Denton County, Texas; to encourage, promote, and conduct programs of continuing education and professional development; and to
promote high standards of integrity and professionalism for paralegals.

Mission Statement

The DCPA’s mission is to promote the paralegal profession and goals of the paralegal by
  • Recognizing the unique challenges facing the paralegal.
  • Emphasizing continuing legal education among members of the profession.
  • Promoting high standards of integrity and professionalism for paralegals.
  • Advocating utilization of the paralegal as a valued team member.
  • Offering networking opportunities among peers.
  • Providing a voice for its members on the issues facing the paralegal profession.
  • Establishing positive fellowship among Association members and members of the legal community.
  • Encouraging involvement in community service projects through        DCPA or other non-profit organizations.

Code of Ethics

To effect its purpose, DCPA adopts as a guideline for professional conduct the Code of Ethics and Professional Responsibility of the Paralegal Division of the State Bar of Texas.



2019 DCPA Executive Officers:
Jenna Earhart - President

Cindy Moon - President-Elect 

Carla Pressly – Secretary-Parliamentarian
Lisa Pittman – Treasurer
Daphina Park – Historian

2019 DCPA Committee Chairs:
CLE – Kim Spivey
Fundraising - Melody Brackeen
Legal Directory - TBD
Membership - Holly McDuffie
Newsletter – Lisa Pittman
Scholarship - Amy Hoffee




DCPA is a member of the Texas Alliance of Paralegal Associations


Upcoming Events

May 31, 2019 • SillwaterS Retreat Center
May 31, 2019 3:00 PM • StillWaterS Retreat Center
June 22, 2019 • To Be Determined

2019 Spring CLE Seminar - Save the Date!


DCPA's 2019 Spring CLE Seminar will be held April 5, 2019 in the Jury Room of the Denton County Courts Building for CLE credit.


Plans are in the works to have several excellent guess speakers.  Please stay tuned for legal topics and details!


Wellness Retreat - Well Received!


DCPA's First Wellness Retreat was held May 18-20 at Stillwaters Retreat Center where participating members learned techniques to de-stress, relax, and recharge.


Guest speakers included Thaddeus Mantaro, Director of the Health and Wellbeing Initiative at Texas Woman's University and Dr. Ivy Brown of North Texas Chiropractic.  DCPA Members Beth Honeycutt and Sharron Dowdle provided some insight into essential oil benefits, and Beth led a meditation session for the group on Saturday morning.


Participants had the opportunity to hike, swim, and explore the Stillwaters grounds throughout their stay.   A Mimosa Bar and painting party were the highlight of Saturday evening, and door prizes geared toward health and wellness added to the festivities.


The response to this first-time event was very positive, so be on the lookout for information regarding a follow-up event in the Spring of 2019!

Recent Blog Posts

April 27, 2018 8:32 AM • Daphina Park
March 21, 2018 1:35 PM • Daphina Park
© Denton County Paralegal Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software